Jar Entry #45 – Misdirection

Happy hearts day!

According to Wikipedia, Misdirection is a form of deception in which the attention of an audience is focused on one thing in order to distract its attention from another. Managing the audience’s attention is the aim of all theater, it is the foremost requirement of theatrical magic. In this case, the magic was between me and Hazel.

Every Valentine’s Day, I would give Hazel flowers. I especially enjoyed sending them to her office every time. A few days ago, Hazel told me not to get her flowers as she found them impractical. Hahaha! Yeah, right.

So for our 6th engagement anniversary yesterday, I got her this:f20A portable Bluetooth speaker is perfect for Nixi’s nursery rhymes as well as Hazel’s workouts, particularly due to the built-in pedometer in the speaker as well. Yes, honey, it’s a very practical gift. And it enabled the misdirection.

But before I tell you that story, I’d like to mention that Hazel gave me the sweetest gift, literally and figuratively. During her lunch break, she gave me three Hershey’s milk chocolate six-packs, one of my favorites, and a wonderful letter whose contents will remain between me and Hazel. I never expect gifts so imagine my surprise!

And so we return from that digression. Hazel was at work this afternoon when the order from the florist arrived. Good thing Nixi just woke up from a nap because I quickly dressed her up and with her in a carrier, we went to Hazels office. first-metro

It was there where she experienced my stubbornness yet again. Yes, after she insisted that I not give her any flowers at all, here we are to deliver another one this year. I did try to keep it frugal by just giving her one rose so she wouldn’t go ballistic on me. The speaker was to give her a false sense of complacency that I would follow her request. I do have to live up to my being a hopeless romantic though, heehee!

We didn’t stay very long as they were still quite busy at work so we just wrapped up our Valentine’s Day in the evening unwinding with our favorite TV shows. Better than having to wade through traffic just to go to a crowded restaurant, right?

Since we’re discussing magic anyway, here’s the video that we made when we found out Hazel was pregnant with Nixi!

Leave a Reply

